Access    Contact us  

Certification of management system auditors, etc

Japanese Registration of Certificated Auditors (JRCA)

Japanese Registration of Certificated Auditors (JRCA) was accredited by the Japan Accreditation Board for Conformity Assessment (JAB) as a certification body for Quality management system (QMS) auditors in December 1996 (Certificate No. CP004). JRCA provides certification of auditors who audit organization’s QMS based on JIS Q 9001 (ISO9001).

JRCA built up the system for certification of auditors oriented to aerospace industries. After accreditation by JAB in September 2001, JRCA provides certification of aerospace auditors.

JRCA provides approval of training courses for QMS auditors and for aerospace auditors since 2006, and it has also started certification of information security management system (ISMS) auditors and approval of training courses for ISMS auditors under the accreditation by Japan Information Processing and DEvelopment Center (JIPDEC) since April 2007. The accreditation body of ISMS has been changed from JIPDEC to ISMS Accreditation Center (ISMS-AC) since 2018.

In 2015, JRCA was accredited by JAB as a certification body for food safety management system (FSMS) auditors. It was because the certification system of FSMS has been transfered from Japan FSMS Assessment and Registration Body (JFARB) to JRCA.

The number of certification of auditors provided by JRCA at the end of March, 2018 was 6,794 for QMS auditors, 73 for AS auditors, 2,465 for ISMS auditors, and 373 for FSMS auditors.

The number of training courses approved by JRCA at the end of March, 2018 was 5 for QMS, 1 for AS, and 5 for ISMS.

Registration Center of Certificated Translators (RCCT)

In April 2017, we established the Registration Center of Certificated Translators (RCCT), and we are assessing the specialized abilities of translators as a third party from a fair and impartial perspective to register translator qualifications.

Assessment of translator abilities is based on the international standard ISO 17100 (Requirements for Translation Services), which enables objective certification of these abilities. There are three types of qualification: Advanced Professional Translator (APT), Professional Translator (PT), and Paraprofessional Translator (PPT); qualifications can be registered in four specialist fields (finance/economic/legal, medical/pharmaceutical, industrial/sci-tech, and patents/intellectual property) for two language pairs (Japanese-English and English-Japanese).

Registration Center of Experts for Standardization (RCES)

In May 2017, we established the Registration Center of Experts for Standardization (RCES), which registers the qualifications of standard development experts to support standardization efforts by business and organizations and the development of standardization experts.

Standard development experts are “persons with specialized knowledge in the area of standard development—international standards, national standards, organization standards, internal company standards, and so forth—who have the ability to participate in these processes.” In today’s society, where it can even be said that, “Those who control the standards control the market,” businesses and organizations themselves must actively address the task of standardization; however, this is not something anyone can do. Qualification as a standard development expert provides proof of a person’s ability to be responsible for standardization activities.